Formula Banner

Latest Updates

GHANA – Visa on Arrival for all African Union Nationals

, 12/07/2016

Effective 8 July 2016, Ghana has officially started implementing a previously announced visa-on-arrival policy for all nationals of African Union member states arriving through the Kotoka International Airport (KIA).

What does this mean?

The new policy means that a national of any African Union member state can visit Ghana from their country of origin or residence without a pre-arranged consular visa, for business, tourism or to obtain a residence permit.

On arrival at the port of entry, an entry permit allowing a stay of up to thirty days will be issued at the discretion of the immigration officer on duty.

The policy is being piloted for three months at KIA only, after which it will be extended to other ports of entry nationwide.

What documents are required?

On arrival, the African Union national must have:

  • a passport from their country of origin, valid for at least three months from the date of entry;
  • evidence of sufficient funds;
  • proof of accommodation; and
  • a return ticket or evidence of onward travel.


The African Union (AU), founded in 2001, consists of 54 countries in Africa. The only African state that is not a member is Morocco.

Previously, only nationals of the fifteen countries of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) were visa exempt for travel to Ghana.

Action Points

  • Business travelers who are African Union member state nationals, and their employers, can now benefit from facilitated travel to Ghana.
  • Work permit holders can now enter Ghana without a pre-arranged visa to complete the residence permit application procedure.