Formula Banner

Latest Updates

KAZAKHSTAN – New Visa Waiver Program Covers 20 More Countries and Longer Stays

, 19/12/2016

Effective 1 January 2017, nationals of 39 countries (up from 19) will be able to enter, leave and transit through Kazakhstan without a visa, and stay for up to 30 days (up from 15 days), for business, tourism or private trips.

Who Does This Apply To?

The visa waiver will be extended to nationals of Austria, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Luxembourg, Mexico, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Turkey.

Currently, the visa waiver applies to nationals of only 19 countries: Australia, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates and the United States.

Note that nationals of these 39 countries travelling to Kazakhstan for work purposes will still require work visas.

Action Items

  • Note the upcoming extended visa waiver regime effective, which applies to business, tourist and private trips by nationals of 39 countries for up to 30 days.