Formula Banner

Latest Updates

BOLIVIA – New Yellow Fever Vaccination Requirement

, 13/03/2017

Effective immediately, the Bolivian government has introduced a new requirement for travelers entering Bolivia from certain countries to present a yellow fever vaccination at the port of entry.  This requirement is in response to a recent yellow fever outbreak in Bolivia and neighbouring countries.

Who is Affected?

Any traveller over the age of one entering Bolivia from the following countries must present a yellow fever vaccination certificate, showing a vaccine given at least ten days prior:

  • Americas: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Surinam, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela.

  • Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Togo, Uganda.

In addition, travellers over the age of nine months entering Bolivia from any country and intending to travel to an area of Yellow Fever risk in Bolivia must present a vaccination certificate.

Areas of risk currently include altitudes below 2300m in the departments of La Paz, Cochabamba, Chuquisaca and Tarija. However, the cities of La Paz, Santa Cruz de la Sierra and Cochabamba are not currently considered to be areas of yellow fever risk.

Action Items

  • Those intending to travel to Bolivia from the designated yellow fever risk countries, or from any country to a yellow fever risk area in Bolivia, and who have not already been vaccinated against yellow fever, should ensure they are vaccinated at least ten days before travelling.