Formula Banner

Latest Updates

TAIWAN – New Visa Exemptions for Nationals of Latin American and Caribbean Countries

, 19/07/2017

Effective 12 July 2017, nationals of eleven countries in Latin America and the Caribbean are now eligible for visa-free entry to Taiwan for either 30 or 90 days.

Who qualifies?

Nationals of Belize, the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Saint Vincent, Saint Kitts and Nevis and Saint Lucia are visa-exempt for 30 days;
Nationals of Paraguay, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras And Nicaragua are visa-exempt for 90 days.
To qualify, travellers must hold a passport valid for at least six months and proof of return or onward travel.


The measures extend Taiwan’s recent strategy of strengthening economic relationships with South and Southeast Asian countries, known as the “New Southbound Policy”, introduced on 1 August 2016. See our previous alerts on this here and here.

Action Items

Business travellers to Taiwan from Latin American and Caribbean countries, and their employers, should consult a visa specialist to confirm the latest entry requirements.