Formula Banner

Latest Updates

INDONESIA – Visa-Free Entry Extended to 30 More Nationalities


Effective 6 June 2015, nationals of 30 more countries can visit Indonesia visa-free for up to 30 days. The visit visa regulation is an attempt to boost the Indonesian tourist industry.

Who Qualifies?

Presidential decree 69/2015 grants visa-free entry to nationals of the following 30 countries for short stays of up to 30 days, for tourist purposes only:

China, Russia, South Korea, Japan, USA, Canada, New Zealand, Mexico, United Kingdom, Germany, France, Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium, Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Qatar, UAE, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman, South Africa.

Qualifying ports of entry for these visa-free nationals are:

  • Soekarno-Hatta International Airport (Tangerang);
  • Ngurah Rai International Airport (Bali);
  • Kualanamu International Airport (Medan);
  • Djuanda International Airport (Surabaya);
  • Hang Nadim International Airport (Batam);
  • Sri Bintang Seaport;
  • Sekupang Seaport;
  • Batam Center Seaport; and
  • Tanjung Uban Seaport.

Nationals of the following group of 15 countries were already allowed to enter Indonesia visa-free for short stays of up to 30 days for tourist, business, governmental, educational, social and cultural, family, journalist, or transit purposes, and may enter through any Indonesian immigration checkpoint:

Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Philippines, Chili, Morocco, Peru, Vietnam, Ecuador, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Hong Kong, Macao.

Other Requirements

A qualifying foreign national entering Indonesia visa-free must carry an onward or return travel ticket, and a passport valid for a minimum of six months from the date of entry.

Visa-free short visits cannot be extended and cannot be converted to another type of visa. A visa on arrival (available for certain nationalities) may be extended, depending on the circumstances, and is obtainable at more than the nine ports of entry listed above.

Action Items

  • Note the extended list of visa-free nationalities, and that a visa is still required for business trips for all the 30 nationalities recently added to the list.