Formula Banner

Latest Updates

KAZAKHSTAN – Visa Waiver Extended to 2017 and for Ten More Nationalities


Nationals of ten more countries will be able to enter, leave and transit through Kazakhstan without a visa, and stay for up to 15 days, when travelling for business or tourism.

The visa waiver scheme, originally introduced in 2014 for one year as a pilot project, has been extended until December 2017.

Who Does This Apply To?

The visa waiver now applies to nationals of twenty countries. It has been extended to nationals of Belgium, Australia, Hungary, Spain, Monaco, Norway, Singapore, Finland, Switzerland and Sweden

Originally, the visa waiver applied to nationals of only ten countries: the United States, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, Japan, Malaysia and South Korea. Note that nationals of these twenty countries travelling to Kazakhstan for work purposes will still require work visas.

Action Items

  • Note the extended visa waiver in effect until December 2017, which applies to short business and tourist trips by nationals of twenty countries.